

March 10, 2010

The Honorable Harry Reid United States Senate 522 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Majority Leader Reid:

The American Legislative Exchange Council is alarmed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)'s plan to regulate greenhouse gases under the Clean Air Act (CAA). We are encouraged by efforts such as the bipartisan resolution S.J. Res. 26 introduced by Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Senator Blanche Lincoln (D-Ark.) to prevent the EPA from this action.

The Clean Air Act is ill-suited for the purpose of regulating greenhouse gases as evidenced, in part, by the EPA's Tailoring Rule itself which attempts to limit the draconian impact of their efforts by substituting new thresholds for those enumerated in law. The hope is to delay regulation for small emission sources, but the truth is both large and small emission sources in most states will be required to comply under current laws. Despite this attempted fix, EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson has repeatedly acknowledged that the Obama administration would prefer that Congress, not the EPA, decide what, if any, rules should apply to greenhouse gas emissions.

America's economic recovery depends on affordable energy to sustain growth and reemploy workers. EPA's proposed regulatory approach is directly at odds with economic growth and job creation at a time in this country when both are desperately needed.

Allowing EPA to proceed with this regulatory approach in the absence of the people's directive through their elected members of Congress is tantamount to allowing unelected bureaucrats to determine the legislative agenda. Congress must not allow the EPA to dictate its priorities, and S. J. Res. 26 will ensure that the EPA's rule will not destroy our economic recovery and the jobs that depend on it.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Rep. David Wolkins Indiana House District 18 Co-Chair, ALEC Natural Resources Task Force

cc: All U.S. Senators



Rep. John Adams
Ohio House District 78

Rep. Ron Amstutz Ohio House District 3

Asm. Joel Anderson

California Assembly District 77

Rep. Wesley Belter

North Dakota House District 22

Rep. Walt Bivins

Missouri House District 97

Sen. Leo Blais

Rhode Island Senate District 21

Rep. Louis Blessing Ohio House District 29

Sen. Karin Brownlee Kansas Senate District 23

Rep. Les Carnine

Arkansas House District 94

Rep. Harry Cato

South Carolina House District 17

Rep. Gregory Clark

Vermont House District Addison-3

Rep. Ann Clemmer

Arkansas House District 29

Rep. George Cleveland

North Carolina House District 14

Rep. Stanley Cox

Missouri House District 118

Rep. Betty De Boef Iowa House District 76

Rep. Noble Ellington

Louisiana House District 20

Rep. Ed Emery

Missouri House District 126

Rep. Jane English

Arkansas House District 42

Sen. Jeff Essmann

Montana Senate District 28

Rep. Clay Ford

Florida House District 3

Sen. Steve French

Alabama Senate District 15

Sen. Bob Gibbs

Ohio Senate District 22

Rep. Jimmie Hall

New Mexico House District 28

Rep. Mike Harmon

Kentucky House District 54

Rep. Frank Henderson

Idaho House District 5B

Minority Leader Dennis Hollingsworth

California Senate District 36

Rep. David Howard

Montana House District 60

Speaker Bill Howell

Virginia House District 28



Rep. Matt Huffman Ohio House District 4

Rep. John Huffman Oregon House District 59

Rep. Pete Illoway Wyoming House District 42

Rep. Jim Jackson Texas House District 115

Rep. Allen Jaggi Wyoming House District 18

Sen. Owen Johnson New York Senate District 4

Rep. Timothy Jones Missouri House District 89

Rep. Kris Jordan Ohio House District 2

Rep. Jim Kasper North Dakota House District 46

Rep. Wes Keller Alaska House District 14

Rep. Eric Koch Indiana House District 65

Del. Susan Krebs Maryland Assembly District 9B

Sen. Grant Larson Wyoming Senate District 17

Sen. Perry Lee Mississippi Senate District 35 Rep. Susan Lynn Tennessee House District 57

Rep. Ron Maag Ohio House District 35

Rep. Gary MacLaren Montana House District 89

Rep. Jerry Madden Texas House District 67

Rep. Jarrod Martin Ohio House District 70

Majority Leader John McComish Arizona House District 20

Del. Jonathan Miller West Virginia Delegate District 53

Speaker David Monson North Dakota House District 10

Rep. Phil Montgomery Wisconsin Assembly District 4

Sen. Dave Nething North Dakota Senate District 12

Sen. Ralph Okerlund Utah Senate District 24

Rep. Leslie Osborn Oklahoma House District 47

Rep. John Otto Texas House District 18

Rep. Stephen Palmer New Hampshire House District 6



Sen. Chip Pearson Georgia Senate District 51

Rep. Ken Peterson Montana House District 46

Sen. Mary Pilcher Cook Kansas Senate District 10

Rep. John Piscopo Connecticut House District 76

Sen. Dennis Pyle Kansas Senate District 1

Rep. Lorraine Quarberg Wyoming House District 28

Sen. Willim Raggio Nevada Senate District 3

Rep. Roy Ragland Arkansas House District 90

Rep. Val Rausch South Dakota House District 4

Rep. Marc Rhoades Kansas House District 72

Sen. Majority Leader Chip Rogers Georgia Senate District 21

Rep. William Ruppel Indiana House District 22

Rep. Bill Sample Arkansas House District 30

Rep. Bill Sandifer South Carolina House District 2 Rep. Rodney Schad Missouri House District 115

Rep. Sharon Schwartz Kansas House District 106

Sen. Kel Seliger Texas Senate District 31

Sen. Doug Smith Maine Senate District 27

Rep. Cary Smith Montana House District 55

Rep. Todd Snitchler Ohio House District 50

Del. Richard Sossi Maryland Assembly District 36

Sen. Nancy Spence Colorado Senate District 27

Sen. Val Stevens Washington Senate District 39

Sen. Francis Thompson Louisiana Senate District 34

Rep. Blair Thoreson North Dakota House District 44

Rep. Karl Van Roy Wisconsin Assembly District 90

Rep. Lynn Wachtmann Ohio House District 75

Rep. Wendy Warburton Montana House District 34



Rep. Ralph Watts Iowa House District 47

Rep. Randy Weber Texas House District 29

Rep. Jack Williams Alabama House District 47 Rep. Matt Wingard Oregon House District 26

Rep. Tommy Woods Mississippi House District 13

Rep. Greg Wren Alabama House District 75