111th United States Congress

From SourceWatch
(Redirected from 111th Congress)
Jump to: navigation, search

The 111th United States Congress was sworn in on January 6, 2009.

Caucus totals as of November 6, 2009 of the 111th Congress are 258 Democrats and 177 Republicans in the U.S. House of Representatives. As of September 25, 2009, there are 58 Democrats, 40 Republicans and 2 Independents (who plan to caucus with Democrats) in the U.S. Senate.

Leadership & Committees

U.S. House leadership

Democratic Leadership

The following members were selected by House Democrats to serve in the leadership during the 111th Congress:

Position Member
Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (Calif.)
Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (Md.)
Majority Whip James Clyburn (S.C.)
Caucus Chair John Larson (Ct.)
Caucus Vice-chair Xavier Becerra (Calif.)
DCCC Chairman Chris Van Hollen (Md)

Republican Leadership

The following members were selected by House Republicans to serve in the leadership during the 111th Congress:

Position Member
Minority Leader John Boehner (Ohio)
Minority Whip Eric Cantor (Va.)
Conference Chair Mike Pence (Ind.)
Policy Committee Chairman Thad McCotter (Mich.)
Conference Vice-chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Wash.)
Conference Secretary John Carter (Texas)
Chairman of NRCC Pete Sessions (Texas)

Committee chairmanships

The following members were selected to serve as committee chairs during the 111th Congress, and ranking members based on the information available on December 17, 2008.[1]

Committee Chairperson Ranking Member
Agriculture Rep. Collin Peterson, (D-Minn.) Rep. Frank Lucas (R-Okla.)
Appropriations Rep. David Obey, (D-Wis.) Rep. Jerry Lewis, (R-Calif.)
Armed Services Rep. Ike Skelton, (D-Mo.) Rep. John M. McHugh, (R-N.Y.)
Budget Rep. John Spratt, (D-S.C.) Rep. Paul D. Ryan, (R-Wis.)
Education and Labor (formerly "Education and the Workforce")* Rep. George Miller, (D-Calif.) Rep. Howard McKeon, (R-Calif.)
Energy and Commerce Rep. Henry Waxman, (D-Calif.) Rep. Joe Barton, (R-Texas)
Ethics** Rep. Zoe Lofgren, (D-Calif.) Rep. Jo Bonner, (R-Ala.)
Financial Services Rep. Barney Frank, (D-Mass.) Rep. Spencer Bachus, (R-Ala.)
Foreign Affairs (formerly "International Relations")* Rep. Howard L. Berman, (D-Calif.) Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, (R-Fla.)
Global Warming Rep. Edward Markey, (D-Mass.) Rep. James Sensenbrenner, (R-Wis.)
Homeland Security Rep. Bennie Thompson, (D-Miss.) Rep. Peter King, (R-N.Y.)
House Administration Rep. Robert A. Brady, (D-Penn.) Rep. Vernon Ehlers, (R-Mich.)
Intelligence Rep. Silvestre Reyes (D-Texas) Rep. Peter Hoekstra, (R. Mich.)
Judiciary Rep. John Conyers, (D-Mich.) Rep. Lamar Smith, (R-Texas)
Natural Resources (formerly "Resources")* Rep. Nick Rahall, (D-W.Va.) Rep. Doc Hastings, (R-Wash.)
Oversight and Government Reform (formerly "Government Reform")* Rep. Edolphus Towns, (D-N.Y.) Rep. Darrell Issa, (R-Calif.)
Rules Rep. Louise Slaughter, (D-N.Y.) Rep. David Dreier, (R-Calif.)
Science and Technology (formerly "Science")* Rep. Bart Gordon, (D-Tenn.) Rep. Ralph Hall, (R-Texas)
Small Business Rep. Nydia Velazquez, (D-N.Y.) Rep. Sam Graves, (R-Mo.)
Transportation and Infrastructure Rep. James Oberstar, (D-Minn.) Rep. John Mica, (R-Fla.)
Veterans' Affairs Rep. Bob Filner, (D-Calif.) Rep. Steve Buyer, (R-Ind.)
Ways and Means Rep. Charles Rangel, (D-N.Y.) Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.)

*Former committee names.
**Members of the Ethics Committee can serve only three consecutive terms. Current Chairman Gene Green (D-Texas) and Ranking Member Doc Hastings (R-Wash.) have served the limit, and may be replaced on the committee (though either can serve if asked to remain in a leadership position on the committee).

Main article: U.S. House of Representatives Committees

U.S. Senate leadership

Democratic Leadership

On November 14, 2006, the Democratic caucus met in the Old Senate Chamber to decide on party leaders. Beginning in 2009, members of the 111th Congress (for the most part) kept that leadership. The following members were selected to serve in the leadership:

Position Member
Majority Leader
Chairman of Democratic Caucus
Harry Reid (Nev.)
Majority Whip Dick Durbin (Ill.)
Vice-chair of Democratic Caucus Charles Schumer (N.Y)
Chairman of DSCC Robert Menendez (N.J.)
Conference secretary Patty Murray (Wash.)
Chair of the steering committee Debbie Stabenow (Mich.)

Republican Leadership

The Senate Republican caucus selected the following members to serve as their leadership:

Position Member
Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.)
Minority Whip Jon Kyl (Ariz.)
Conference Chair Lamar Alexander (Tenn.)
Conference Vice-Chair John Thune (S.D.)
Policy Committee Chairman John Ensign (Nev.)
Chairman of the NRSC John Cornyn (Texas)

Committee Chairmanships

The following members were selected to serve as committee chairs during the 111th Congress, and ranking members based on the information available on November 24, 2008.

Committee Chairperson Ranking Member
Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Sen. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa) Sen. Saxby Chambliss, (R-Ga.)
Appropriations Sen. Daniel Inouye, (D-Hawaii) Sen. Thad Cochran, (R-Miss.)
Armed Services Committee Sen. Carl Levin, (D-Mich.) Sen. John McCain, (R-Ariz.)
Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Sen. Christopher Dodd, (D-Conn.) Sen. Richard Shelby, (R-Ala.)
Budget Sen. Kent Conrad, (D-N.D.) Sen. Judd Gregg, (R-N.H.)
Commerce, Science, and Transportation Sen. Jay Rockefeller, (D-W.Va.) Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison, (R-Texas)
Energy and Natural Resources Sen. Jeff Bingaman, (D-N.M.) TBA
Environment and Public Works Sen. Barbara Boxer, (D-Calif.) Sen. James Inhofe, (R-Okla.)
Ethics Sen. Tim Johnson, (D-S.D.) Sen. John Cornyn, (R-Texas)
Finance Sen. Max Baucus, (D-Mont.) Sen. Charles Grassley, (R-Iowa)
Foreign Relations Sen. John Kerry, (D-Mass.) Sen. Richard Lugar, (D-Ind.)
Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Sen. Ted Kennedy, (D-Mass.) Sen. Mike Enzi, (R-Wyo.)
Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs Sen. Joe Lieberman, (I/D-Conn.) Sen. Susan Collins, (R-Maine)
Indian Affairs Sen. Byron Dorgan, (D-N.D.) Sen. Lisa Murkowski, (R-Ark.)
Intelligence Sen. Dianne Feinstein, (D-Calif.) Sen. Pat Roberts, (R-Kan.)
Judiciary Sen. Patrick Leahy, (D-Vt.) Sen. Arlen Specter, (R-Penn.)
Rules and Administration Sen. Chuck Schumer, (D-N.Y.) Sen. Robert Bennett (R-Utah)
Small Business and Entrepreneurship Sen. Mary Landrieu, (D-La.) Sen. Olympia Snowe, (R-Maine)
Special Committee on Aging Sen. Herb Kohl, (D-Wis.) TBA
Veterans' Affairs Sen. Daniel Akaka, (D-Hawaii) TBA

Freshman members

The 111th Congress convened with 65 freshman members, including two non-voting members.

Related SourceWatch/Congresspedia Resources

Articles and resources


  1. Alan K. Ota and Michael Teitelbaum, "GOP Picks Ranking Members for 111th," CQ Politics, December 15, 2008

External resources

External articles


Note: This page created November 17, 2008.