2008 U.S. congressional elections (California)

From SourceWatch
Jump to: navigation, search
This article describes the elections for seats in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate from California in 2008. See the California state portal for more information.

In the 110th Congress, California had 34 Democrats and 18 Republicans in the House, as well as 2 Democratic Senators.

In the 2008 elections, California elected 34 Democrats and 18 Republicans to the House, and continues to have 2 Democratic Senators.


District 1

Incumbent (Democrat): Mike Thompson

Winner: Mike Thompson

District 2

Incumbent (Republican): Wally Herger

Winner: Wally Herger

District 3

Incumbent (Republican): Dan Lungren

Winner: Dan Lungren

District 4

Incumbent (Republican): John Doolittle was not seeking re-election.


District 5

Incumbent (Democrat): Doris Matsui

Winner: Doris Matsui

District 6

Incumbent (Democrat): Lynn Woolsey

Winner: Lynn Woolsey

District 7

Incumbent (Democrat): George Miller

Winner: George Miller

District 8

Incumbent (Democrat): Nancy Pelosi

Winner: Nancy Pelosi

District 9

Incumbent (Democrat): Barbara Lee

Winner: Barbara Lee

District 10

Incumbent (Democrat): Ellen Tauscher

Winner: Ellen Tauscher

District 11

Incumbent (Democrat): Jerry McNerney

Winner: Jerry McNerney

District 12

Incumbent (Democrat): Jackie Speier

Winner: Jackie Speier

District 13

Incumbent (Democrat): Pete Stark

Winner: Pete Stark

District 14

Incumbent (Democrat): Anna Eshoo

Winner: Anna Eshoo

District 15

Incumbent (Democrat): Mike Honda

Winner: Mike Honda

District 16

Incumbent (Democrat): Zoe Lofgren

Winner: Zoe Lofgren

District 17

Incumbent (Democrat): Sam Farr

Winner: Sam Farr

District 18

Incumbent (Democrat): Dennis Cardoza

Winner: Dennis Cardoza

District 19

Incumbent (Republican): George Radanovich

Winner: George Radanovich

District 20

Incumbent (Democrat): Jim Costa

Winner: Jim Costa

District 21

Incumbent (Republican): Devin Nunes

Winner: Devin Nunes

District 22

Incumbent (Republican): Kevin McCarthy

Winner: Kevin McCarthy

District 23

Incumbent (Democrat): Lois Capps

Winner: Lois Capps

District 24

Incumbent (Republican): Elton Gallegly

Winner: Elton Gallegly

District 25

Incumbent (Republican): Buck McKeon

Winner: Buck McKeon

District 26

Incumbent (Republican): David Dreier

Winner: David Dreier

District 27

Incumbent (Democrat): Brad Sherman

Winner: Brad Sherman

District 28

Incumbent (Democrat): Howard Berman

Winner: Howard Berman

District 29

Incumbent (Democrat): Adam Schiff

Winner: Adam Schiff

District 30

Incumbent (Democrat): Henry A. Waxman

Winner: Henry A. Waxman

District 31

Incumbent (Democrat): Xavier Becerra

Winner: Xavier Becerra

District 32

Incumbent (Democrat): Hilda Solis

Winner: Hilda Solis

District 33

Incumbent (Democrat): Diane Watson

Winner: Diane Watson

District 34

Incumbent (Democrat): Lucille Roybal-Allard

Winner: Lucille Roybal-Allard

District 35

Incumbent (Democrat): Maxine Waters

Winner: Maxine Waters

District 36

Incumbent (Democrat): Jane Harman

Winner: Jane Harman

District 37

Incumbent (Democrat): Laura Richardson

Winner: Laura Richardson

District 38

Incumbent (Democrat): Grace Napolitano

Winner: Grace Napolitano

District 39

Incumbent (Democrat): Linda Sanchez

Winner: Linda Sanchez

District 40

Incumbent (Republican): Ed Royce

Winner: Ed Royce

District 41

Incumbent (Republican): Jerry Lewis

Winner: Jerry Lewis

District 42

Incumbent (Republican): Gary Miller

Winner: Gary Miller

District 43

Incumbent (Democrat): Joe Baca

Winner: Joe Baca

District 44

Incumbent (Republican): Ken Calvert

Winner: Ken Calvert

District 45

Incumbent (Republican): Mary Bono

Winner: Mary Bono

District 46

Incumbent (Republican): Dana Rohrabacher

Winner: Dana Rohrabacher

District 47

Incumbent (Democrat): Loretta Sanchez

Winner: Loretta Sanchez

District 48

Incumbent (Republican): John Campbell

Winner: John Campbell

District 49

Incumbent (Republican): Darrell Issa

Winner: Darrell Issa

District 50

Incumbent (Republican): Brian Bilbray

Winner: Brian Bilbray

District 51

Incumbent (Democrat): Bob Filner

Winner: Bob Filner

  • Republican candidate: David Joy
  • Democratic candidate: Bob Filner
  • Libertarian candidate: Dan Litwin

District 52

Vacant seat (Incumbent Duncan Hunter (R) is not seeking re-election)

Winner: Duncan D. Hunter

District 53

Incumbent (Democrat): Susan Davis

Winner: Susan Davis

Articles and resources