2008 U.S. congressional elections (Georgia)

From SourceWatch
Jump to: navigation, search
This article describes the elections for seats in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate from Georgia in 2008. See the Georgia state portal for more information.

In the 110th Congress, Georgia had 6 Democrats and 7 Republicans in the U.S. House and two Republican senators.[1]

In the 2008 elections, Georgia (currently) elected 6 Democrats and 7 Republicans to the U.S. House and was still undecided on its Republican incumbent Senator.[2]


Incumbent (Republican): Saxby Chambliss



District 1

Incumbent (Republican): Jack Kingston

Winner: Jack Kingston

District 2

Incumbent (Democrat): Sanford Bishop

Winner: Sanford Bishop

District 3

Incumbent (Republican): Lynn Westmoreland

Winner: Lynn Westmoreland

District 4

Incumbent (Democrat): Hank Johnson

Winner: Hank Johnson

District 5

Incumbent (Democrat): John Lewis

Winner: John Lewis

  • Democratic candidate: John Lewis
  • Republican candidate: None
  • Libertarian candidate: None

District 6

Incumbent (Republican): Tom Price

Winner: Tom Price

District 7

Incumbent (Republican): John Linder

Winner: John Linder

District 8

Incumbent (Democrat): Jim Marshall

Winner: Jim Marshall

District 9

Incumbent (Republican): Nathan Deal

Winner: Nathan Deal

District 10

Incumbent (Republican): Paul Broun

Winner: Paul Broun

District 11

Incumbent (Republican): Phil Gingrey

Winner: Phil Gingrey

District 12

Incumbent (Democrat): John Barrow

Winner: John Barrow

District 13

Incumbent (Democrat): David Scott

Winner: David Scott

Articles and resources


  1. CNN's election center.
  2. CNN