2008 U.S. congressional elections (New York)

From SourceWatch
Jump to: navigation, search
This article describes the elections for seats in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate from New York in 2008. See the New York state portal for more information.

In the 110th Congress, New York had 6 Republicans and 23 Democrats in the House of Representatives and 2 Democratic Senators.

In the 2008 election, New York elected 3 Republicans and 26 Democrats to the House of Representatives and continues to have 2 Democratic Senators.


Neither senate seat is up for election in 2008


District 1

Incumbent (Democrat): Timothy Bishop

Winner: Timothy Bishop

District 2

Incumbent (Democrat): Steve Israel

Winner: Steve Israel

District 3

Incumbent (Republican): Peter King

Winner: Peter King

District 4

Incumbent (Democrat): Carolyn McCarthy

Winner: Carolyn McCarthy

District 5

Incumbent (Democrat): Gary Ackerman

Winner: Gary Ackerman

District 6

Incumbent (Democrat): Gregory Meeks

Winner: Gregory Meeks

District 7

Incumbent (Democrat): Joseph Crowley

Winner: Joseph Crowley

District 8

Incumbent (Democrat): Jerrold Nadler

Winner: Jerrold Nadler

District 9

Incumbent (Republican): Anthony Weiner

Winner: Anthony Weiner

  • Democratic candidate: Anthony Weiner
  • Conservative Party candidate: Alfred F. Donohue

District 10

Incumbent (Democrat): Edolphus Towns

Winner: Edolphus Towns

District 11

Incumbent (Democrat): Yvette Clarke

Winner: Yvette Clarke

District 12

Incumbent (Democrat): Nydia Velazquez

Winner: Nydia Velazquez

District 13

Incumbent: none Vito Fossella did not run for reelection.

Winner: Michael McMahon

District 14

Incumbent (Democrat): Carolyn Maloney

Winner: Carolyn Maloney

District 15

Incumbent (Democrat): Charles Rangel

Winner: Charles Rangel

  • Democratic candidate: Charles Rangel
  • Republican candidate: Edward Daniels
  • Socialist Workers Party candidate: Martín Koppel
  • Independent candidate: Craig Schley

District 16

Incumbent (Democrat): Jose Serrano

Winner: Jose Serrano

  • Democratic candidate: Jose Serrano
  • Republican candidate: Ali Mohamed
  • Socialist Workers Party candidate: Maura DeLuca

District 17

Incumbent (Democrat): Eliot Engel

Winner: Eliot Engel

District 18

Incumbent (Democrat): Nita Lowey

Winner: Nita Lowey

District 19

Incumbent (Democrat): John Hall

Winner: John Hall

District 20

Incumbent (Democrat): Kirsten Gillibrand

Winner: Kirsten Gillibrand

District 21

Incumbent: none (Mike McNulty did not run for reelection.

Winner: Paul Tonko

District 22

Incumbent (Democrat): Maurice Hinchey

Winner: Maurice Hinchey

District 23

Incumbent (Republican): John McHugh

Winner: John McHugh

District 24

Incumbent (Democrat): Michael Arcuri

Winner: Michael Arcuri

District 25

Incumbent: (none) Jim Walsh did not run for reelection.

Winner: Dan Maffei

District 26

Incumbent: none (Thomas Reynolds did not run for reelection.

Winner: Chris Lee

District 27

Incumbent (Democrat): Brian Higgins

Winner: Brian Higgins

District 28

Incumbent (Democrat): Louise Slaughter

Winner: Louise Slaughter

District 29

Incumbent (Republican): Randy Kuhl

Winner: Eric Massa

Articles and resources