2008 U.S. congressional elections (Virginia)

From SourceWatch
Jump to: navigation, search
This article describes the elections for seats in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate from Virginia in 2008. See the Virginia state portal for more information.

In the 110th Congress, Virginia had 8 Republicans and 3 Democrats in the House as well as 1 Democratic and 1 Republican in the Senate.

In the 2008 elections, Virginia elected 5 Republicans and 6 Democrats to the House and one Democratic Senator, totaling 2 Democrats in the Senate.


Incumbent: none - John Warner (R-Va.) did not run for re-election.

Winner: Mark R. Warner


District 1

Incumbent (Republican): Robert Wittman

Winner: Robert Wittman

District 2

Incumbent (Republican): Thelma D. Drake

Winner: Glenn Nye

District 3

Incumbent (Democrat): Bobby Scott

Winner: Bobby Scott

  • Democratic candidate: Bobby Scott
  • Republican candidate: none
  • Libertarian candidate: none

District 4

Incumbent (Republican): Randy Forbes

Winner: Randy Forbes

District 5

Incumbent (Republican): Virgil Goode

Winner: Tom Perriello

District 6

Incumbent (Republican): Bob Goodlatte

Winner: Bob Goodlatte

District 7

Incumbent (Republican): Eric Cantor

Winner: Eric Cantor

District 8

Incumbent (Democrat): Jim Moran

Winner: Jim Moran

District 9

Incumbent (Democrat): Rick Boucher

Winner: Rick Boucher

  • Democratic candidate: Rick Boucher
  • Republican candidate: none
  • Libertarian candidate: none

District 10

Incumbent (Republican): Frank Wolf

Winner: Frank Wolf

District 11

Incumbent: Tom Davis is not seeking re-election.

Winner: Gerald E. Connolly

Articles and resources