Friends of the Earth Australia

From SourceWatch
Jump to: navigation, search

Friends of the Earth Australia (FoEA) is a federation of over 20 autonomous local Australian FoE branches and affiliate environment groups.[citation needed]

What distinguishes FoEA from other environment groups is their focus on social justice as an essential means to environmental sustainability. FoEA particularly concerns itself with working at a local level with Indigenous communities. Internally, FoEA operates on a non-hierachical model through consensus decision-making.[citation needed]

History

"FoE Australia was founded in 1974 at a meeting on French Island in Westernport Bay, Victoria, which was then the site for a proposed nuclear reactor..." [1]

FoE groups around Australia have spawned a number of community run local sustainable enterprises including: "Reverse Garbage re-use centre, which finds community uses for industrial discards which would otherwise go to landfill. The Bicycle Revolution (which finds and fixes up old pushbikes)...running a large food co-operative and a bookshop for over two decades and, more recently, an organic cafe. [2]

Campaigns and contacts

  • Cam Walker National Liason Officer & Media Enquiries (Melbourne), Email: cam.walker[at]foe.org.au
  • Natalie Lowrey National Liason Officer (Perth), Email: natalie.lowrey[at]foe.org.au
  • Mara Bonacci Finance (Melbourne), Email: mara.bonacci[at]foe.org.au
  • Damien Lawson Climate Justice spokesperson (Melbourne), damien.lawson[at]foe.org.au
  • Jim Green Anti Nuclear spokesperson (Melbourne), jim.green[at]foe.org.au
  • Georgia Miller Nanotechnology spokesperson (Hobart), georgia.miller[at]foe.org.au
  • Natalie Lowrey Mining issues (Newcastle), natalie.lowrey[at]foe.org.au
  • Dr Rye Senjen Industrial chemicals (Melbourne), rye.senjen[at]foe.org.au
  • Emma Brindal Biofuels spokesperson (Brisbane), emma.brindal[at]foe.org.au
  • Lou Morris Coal campaign spokesperson (Melbourne), louise.morris[at]foe.org.au

Contact information

Website: www.foe.org.au

Articles and resources

Related SourceWatch articles

References

  1. Friends of the Earth Australia, Friends of the Earth Australia, accessed May 8, 2009.
  2. "Friends of the Earth Australia, Friends of the Earth Australia, accessed May 8, 2009.

External resources

External articles